Why the Children’s Bible is Not Enough

There are some days, I must sadly admit, that the only Bible I have read for the day is my Children’s Bible. Every night before I put my kids to bed, we read the Bible. That is my one “spiritual food” for the day.

I have come to the wise conclusion – the Children’s Bible is not enough for me!

There are days when I don’t recognize the person I have become. I’m frazzled. Angry. Anxious. Fearful. Overwhelmed. Frustrated. Sinking.

In the words of my friend and guide, Fr. Anthony Messeh, who once told me that God doesn’t want me to run around like a chicken with my head cut off.

How do I avoid becoming this person?

By spending time with the one who will transform me back into HIS image. And that transformation comes from Him. To me. From within. Deep within.

I am in desperate need of His healing. His Grace. I need to see His face. Daily. I can’t breathe if I don’t. He is my oxygen. My air. My everything.

That is why I need my own time with Him. Carved out to spend with Him. Alone. If I want my husband, my children, others around me to see Him. His Light. Then I need to be with the Source of Light.

God desires this also! He wants the deep heart of man to know His Presence. To feel His joy. His Peace.

“Be Still and Know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

Where can I find this stillness? When my world around me is so chaotic?!

Some mothers tell me they wake up early before the kids wake up. Others after dropping them to school. In the evening after bedtime.

When I can, I do a variety of these daily. But, one thing, I realized I must do, is to take a longer morning away from it all on retreat with Him. It is never the “right” time. There is always something to do. Every day. Busy.

But, I have to do this. Whatever it takes! Our souls. Our marriages. Our children. Our services. Our neighbors. Depend on it!

“But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.” Hebrews 11:6

There are lots of “refreshing” techniques. Dates with my hubby, a break from the kids, a day off of work, coffee with the ladies, de-cluttering a room, a manicure or pedicure, a spa day. These are all nice. And even important. But, the ultimate way of refreshing myself and my soul is to connect with the One who created my soul. Who desires to fill it. To fuel it. To fulfill it.

It is not too late for me and you to change!

That is why I am excited about Holy Week upcoming. A chance to refresh and store up spiritual food for the year. I am praying for you that you will use this holy time of the year to be refreshed. And to set a plan going forward on how to continue to spend time with the One who is the source of refreshment. Pray for me.

Let’s Chat: How do you find time to spend alone with Christ despite your busy life?

Leave a Reply

