The Time has Come!

I can’t believe how quickly the time has flown! We are already at Holy Week!

It was just yesterday, I feel that it was Christmas!

So, if you are like me, you are preparing things last minute at home and church. Shopping list for Feast food (yum!). Easter gifts. Church celebrations. Dinner invitations and menu planning.

The one thing that was quickly overlooked was my personal spiritual time. And my children’s too! So, I hope to focus on a plan for myself this week. I pray you do the same. I am not sure what my focus will be but I will definitely spend some extra quiet moments to connect with my Savior. Lately, I am focused on reading Proverbs and Psalms (loving Proverbs chapter 10 on controlling my lips as a sign of wisdom & Psalm 18 for Christ’s encouragement, strength, and mercy!).

And also I will focus on making the most of Holy Week for my children. I feel that I have slipped a little bit in this area of focusing on spiritual time with my kids. We have gotten a little bit lazy and busy in our Bible reading and our weekly Orthodox Homeschool. So, I don’t want to let this Holy Week pass by without sharing the true meaning of the Resurrection and benefitting from this holy time.

I have updated my Orthodox Homeschool page to include some more Holy Week resources. Please check it out here and scroll down to the Holy Week subtitle. If you have any new ideas, please share! We will do the Holy Week passport this year (per Josiah’s request). But to make it a bit more challenging, I added questions in between the days and I have added some meditations at the end. Maybe even stamping the pages at the end of each day can be fun too. We will print it for all the children of the church as well.

I pray you have a blessed and fruitful Holy Week. May the power of the cross be with you to overcome death and sin so that you may enjoy the glorious Resurrection and new life in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

“But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; The chastisement for our peace was upon Him, and by His stripes we are healed.” -Isaiah 53:5

Let’s Chat: What are your plans for Holy Week for you and your children?

2 thoughts on “The Time has Come!

  1. Greeting from Chicago! Thank you so much for your blog, Dalia! I have a 4 year old and am wondering how you teach/model quiet time. We do the bedtime Bible reading but I’d like to try something earlier in the morning (if possible!) I feel like if I really want him to get in the habit of spending time with God earlier in the day, then we need to work on that now! What are your thoughts?

    • Hello! I really apologize for my late response and hope you see this! That is great that you do the bedtime Bible reading and want to also add in a morning quiet time. We also try to do the same – it is a bit hard on school days so we try just to pray the Thanksgiving Prayer & some personal prayers. On weekends, we wake up and before playing or anything, we say “Let us do our Quiet Time.” So everyone gets their Bibles and we read together the verses for the day. Then we like to personalize it with a prayer. Definitely a good habit to start developing early! God bless and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

